Nautical theme | Nea Skioni, Greece

Three things:

1. Today marks the 100th anniversary since the sinking of Titanic – an event that caused the death of 1,514 people (making it one of the deadliest peacetime maritime disasters in history) and that, in the century that followed, became the iconic subject of endless paraphernalia, books, movies, exhibitions and proverbial sayings. (I highly recommend reading this unusual story about the mark left by the Titanic’s sinking on an otherwise unremarkable Bulgarian village.)

2. The color of the Aegean that you can see on the left edge of the right picture above is exactly what I had in mind when I wanted to paint my living room’s wall “the color of the sea”. I almost gave up, as I looked for paint everywhere and almost became convinced that this color doesn’t exits anywhere but in my imagination, but finally had it made especially (to pretty great results, if I say so myself – you can see the resulting wall color here).

3. The first glimpse of the sea still takes my breath away, although it was neither the first time I saw the sea this year (after the Atlantic in January and the Mediterranean in February), nor was it the long-awaited first sight of the Black Sea from my childhood (that I have written about here).

I’ve spent the last 40 minutes trying to pick one of these three things around which to spin a nautically-themed post, but then I thought, why not include all of them? Then, I proceeded to ignore the possible answers to that question (such as: because they are neither related nor equally compelling or interesting to read) and did it anyway. I hope you find something worthwhile here either way, and – at worst, that I’ve made you think and dream of the sea, which is never a bad thing. And by never, I mean all the times you do it while managing to banish nagging thoughts of maritime disasters.

Leave a Reply

