All about my mother | Kuwait, Kuwait

I am very lucky and blessed to have my mother as a mother. This is something that I am reminded of almost every single day.

But I am confused about this Mother’s Day thing, both as a concept and as a celebration. Since my mother is not the kind to stand on ceremony, we have never really celebrated it in my family. Whenever I remember to tell her “Happy Mother’s Day” she just rolls her eyes and says, “Whatever.” In Bulgaria, the holiday is kind of a leftover from the Communist era – it is marked on International Women’s Day (March 8). I know my mom generally dislikes the hysterical celebrations of lofty concepts (such as “motherhood” and “womanhood,” in this case), which was kind of a specialty of the Communist regime, so I suspect this may be one of the reasons she’s not a big fan of the holiday.

I have to admit that I, too, am a little skeptical about the rationale behind celebrating one’s mother on just one particular day. Seriously, what about the other 364 days of the year? My confusion about the holiday isn’t really helped by the fact that, depending on where you are in the world, Mother’s Day could be celebrated anytime between February (Norway) and December (Panama and Indonesia). Several, but not all of the formerly communist states and ex-Soviet republics, such as Albania, Armenia, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia and the Ukraine, join Bulgaria in marking the day on March 8. Russia, weirdly, does it on the second Sunday of November. Most of the Arab world celebrates it on March 21, after a journalist introduced the idea in Egypt from where it then spread. But the biggest group of countries overall – including the land of Hallmark, commemorate Mother’s Day on the second Sunday of May, which happens to actually be…. today. And I happen to be visiting my mom.

Just now I went over to tell her Happy Mother’s Day and she looked at me incredulously and asked how I come up with this stuff. Like I said, I am very lucky to have my mom.

Leave a Reply

