Snow in the desert | Dubai, United Arab Emirates

That, on the other side of the glass, is actual snow. Inside an actual shopping mall. In Dubai, where the average temperature in January (the coldest month of the year!) is about 20 °C. Just one of this place’s mind-blowing extravagances, which seem to know no limit.

Even though skiing isn’t really my thing, I was tempted to rent some skis and go inside for a little slide down the slopes and a ride on the ski lift, just to say I have. But after I thought about it for a second, I realized how little (read: not at all) I miss winter. So, I stepped outside and had an ice-cold lemonade instead. My only regret was that I didn’t wear flip-flops today.

Leave a Reply

