Waltzing Matilda* | Vienna, Austria

My stopover in Vienna, much like Budapest and Berlin, was not so much about being in Vienna specifically as it was about seeing two of my favorite friends and one of the funnest married couples I know – Tanya and Martin, whose wedding anniversary happens to be today! ***Cheers! Prost! Наздраве! Woohoo! Wishing you another 50 years of fun and waltzing around the living room together!***

Although I always loved visiting Tanya and Martin, this time my trip was made even better because I got to hang out with the newest addition to their family – eight-month-old Oskar, who’s cute as a button and has the most edible cheeks. He is also known and referred to as “the style icon.”

The whirlwind of lazy breakfasts, dinner parties, cooing over the baby, sipping afternoon coffee, making tea, taking leisurely strolls and enjoying numerous glasses of Sturm (a delicious young wine) that filled my stay in Vienna proved a little distracting, which is why I don’t have a picture of little Oskar’s feet. But it should suffice to say that he has inherited his parents’ sense of style (his mom’s – apparent in the picture below), both of whom have iconic status of their own.

* “Waltzing Matilda,” in addition to being “the unofficial national anthem of Australia,” is one of my favorite songs by Tom Waits whom we always listen to when I visit Tanya and Martin in Vienna. Its title, apparently, is also Australian slang for traveling by foot with one’s goods in a “Matilda” (bag) slung over one’s back.

One thought on “Waltzing Matilda* | Vienna, Austria

  1. Pingback: A Not-So-White Christmas | Salmiya, Kuwait | The ground beneath my feet

Leave a Reply

